Today is the World Book Day! I just finished my book Lasso Rundt fra Luna of Agnar Mykle, which is a really great book. I have 5 large boxes of books in my house, but not enough book shelves to have them out. If I ever get a house I want a room where every wall is covered with books! Yes, I know that the word for that is library :p

I learned to read myself at the age of four, and have been reading lots ever since. I worked several years in a bookstore, which made me even more interested in literature. It’s really hard knowing what to tell people who come in and ask; can you recommend a good book? What I like is not necessarily what you like. When people are asked what their favourite book is they tend to answer something like the Great Gatsby, Kafka (seriously? You read the Process and thought “wow this rocks?” or anything of Paulo Coehlo. It’s like people think, “if I say I read Coelho I seem intellectual”. Although some of the  most top-selling books are Harry Potter, the Twilight Saga and the Da Vinci Code,  but no one rarely mentions these. Oh and the Bible. Apparently.

I think reading is good and you should never be embarrassed to tell anyone what your favourites are, doesn’t matter if they are shallow, pink and glossy or have deeper meanings in them.

I tried making a list of my favourites, which was hard, but I made a top 5 and will probably notice I forgot the most important ones right after posting this 🙂

Lars Saabye Christensen- Beatles. Read it first time when I was 10 and have been reading it about every other year since that. About four boys from Oslo and we follow them from the 60’s to the 70’s. It’s funny, smart, wonderful and sad.

Jack London – The call of the wild. ABout the sled dog Jack, everything is seen through his eyes.

Emily Brontë- Wuthering Heights. Well famous for its tragical love story. One of the first adult books I read, and I never get tired of it.

JRR Tolkien- Lord of the Rings. Not much to say really. Magical 🙂

Vladimir Nabokov- Lolita. A man’s obsession for young girls, especially his step-daughter Lolita. Might sound creepy, and of course it is, but… The book is so amazingly good. Movie is all right too 🙂

Do you have a favourite book? Happy Book Day!

Comments
  1. Bibabassie says:

    I luuuuuuuuuf reading.. when its about fantasy 😛 Readed the whole Lord of the rings and HP series. also some other fantasy books.. Dont really have a favorite book tho.

    Bassie ❤

  2. Dennis says:

    If you think Tolkien is magical… I would reccomend Game of Thrones (all the books). Personally I thought these were even better then Lord of the RIngs. HBO is doing the series about these books now. They did a great job, but like always the books are much better.

    • Steve says:

      I’m reading Game of Thrones at the moment. Didnt really like it at first (too many characters) but it is growing on me.

      Have thought about my top 5 and the following would be candidates:

      1) Neuromancer by William Gibson – Classic sci fi cyberpunk story from the guy that coined all sorts of phrases about life with the web.

      2) Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami – All his books are great. A seemingly normal story running alongside something very wierd indeed.

      3) The First Chronicles of Thomas Covenant by Stephen Donaldson – Classic fantasy but I havent re-read it for a long time. Might turn out to be rubbish after all. Dont bother reading anything he wrote after this.

      4) South by Earnest Shackleton – Great story of a failed attempt to reach the South Pole. Shows how tough people really can be when up against it. Of course, some Norwegian guy got there first…

      5) Goodbye to all that by Robert Graves – Biography of a poet dealing with his experiences in the First World War. Very moving.

      Steve.

  3. Arne says:

    but but, where is watership down? There are bunnies in that book you know!
    Glad to see LoTR is in your top 5

  4. Steve says:

    Well, I finished Game of Thrones and it was pretty good I thought. I have the next few on my Kindle so will take a look but I’m worried that A Dance With Dragons gets bad reviews and looks like a bad read. Is it worth reading 4 good books in a series if you know it ends in a bit of a mess? Not sure.

Leave a Reply

