… or, in this case, till death do us reroll.

That’s one of the basic rules of the Ironman Challenge. A guildie told me about this, and I couldn’t resist look into it.

People are constantly moaning about WoW becoming too easy, free epics etc – well, no need to worry about that in Ironman. Basically it’s a personal challenge with rules you need to follow while leveling. Breaking the rules will disqualify you, some things people can never find out about, but most things will logged in achievements statistics. Let’s say you use a healing potion (which is not allowed), that can be tracked. Also, real Ironmen don’t cheat, hence the name!

Ground rules for Ironing:

  1. Only White or Grey gear. No Heirlooms of any kind.
  2. No transfer of gear, items, or money from any other character (yours or others).
  3. No gear enhancements, including gems, enchanting, and reforging. Class abilities are allowed (eg. Rogue poisons, Shaman imbues).
  4. No specialization, talent points, or glyphs. No pet talent points.
  5. No professions or secondary skills, except for First Aid.
  6. No potions, flasks, or elixirs except for required quest items.
  7. No food buffs or other external buffs (including buffs from items and other players).
  8. No groups or assistance from other characters, even if not grouped.
  9. No dungeons, raids, battlegrounds, or arenas.
  10. No guilds, except for level 1 guilds created specifically for the Ironman Challenge.
  11. No Refer-A-Friend.
  12. No addons which assist in combat and/or leveling (eg. leveling guides).
  13. THE BIG ONE: No deaths. Character death for any reason disqualifies the character

The following are allowed:

  1. All class abilities, racials, and personal buffs.
  2. All mounts, bags, and non-combat pets.
  3. All quests, including holiday events and dailies (unless prohibited by some other rule, eg. Fishing and Cooking dailies).

Some forums say you are supposed to generate a character randomly also, which I did to start with, using following rules  to create a random character on Earthen Ring RP realm. Still, most people seem to choose the class they prefer. I landed on human warlock, named it Ironically (you don’t have to, but most use the word iron in the name). Must she rest in peace- a group of Defia’s bandits in Elwynn was too much to handle. Even I only made it to level 7, dying and deleting character was no fun. The new me is now a level 13 hunter called Eliron. If I die, I will not start over again, but I am hoping to make it to at least 20, just for the experience. There is also a leaderboard where you can follow the Iron challengers right now there is a level 58 Tauren paladin in lead.

Why not try something different and join the Iron bunch at Earthen Ring? 😀

Comments
  1. Björn says:

    Nice!
    Hardcore mode in Diablo only says…if u die u can’t continue…everything else is possible, buffs and potions and stuff…and I really liked it. Now I have to do a Ironwoman somewhere!

  2. Steve says:

    I like the idea of not dying and not using heirloom gear etc. or anything that you pass between characters. I think its fair game to use anything your character can find in the game though (including greens items and potions etc.)

    Might give it a go, a melee/healing class such as paladin or druid strikes me as the best chance.

  3. Dennis says:

    I like the idea and I might even going to try it when I return 🙂
    Most def hunters are the best option to go with if I look at the rules.

  4. simon says:

    Hunters? have a word with yourself D!

  5. Dennis says:

    euhmm… I just did! 😉
    This is what you mean right: http://wowironman.com

  6. Heidi says:

    So I’ve been trying this, making it a competition between a friend and myself, making a couple of rules up, such as – the other party picks your race/class combo. Stitch up incoming! He chose a mage for me and I felt I had set him up proper with a priest. I died at 8 the first time around due to not checking up on a quest I didn’t know how to handle. A minute on wowhead would have saved Eirony, poor goblin. The next one perished at 18, overrun by naga. I’m contemplating starting another, but… It was really fun. Until I had to contemplate doing the starting zone AGAIN. Currently my friend is slacking at 19, confident that he’s won our bet. Should I go back and see if I can beat him? Hmm…

Leave a Reply

