Do you remember (part 2)…

Posted: October 9, 2011 in Around Azeroth
Tags: , , , ,

…how incredibly expensive the first epic flying mounts were? Most stuck to the normal flying one for ages, trying to reach the magical 5k, a huge amount of gold for the average player back then. One who chose a non-average way of getting her mount is my sister-in-name Tribeca, a druid on Laughing Skull realm. She had no intentions of spending days of farming or grinding her way to 280 % speed, and decided to, well, mount for a mount, basically!

An Epic Mount! (warcraft players look inside) – w4m – 31 (TriBeCa)
Reply to: pers-308349637@craigslist.org
Date: 2007-04-08, 7:17 PM EDT

WoWHello I need 5000 world of gold for my epic flying mount. In return you can mount me.

You have to have an account on the laughing skull server and I want 5000 gold BEFORE we do anything, we can make the trade at your place since I can’t host. EDIT: Because I am having a lot of dumb guys message me who clearly don’t have the gold make SURE to send a picture of yourself and a screenshot of your character with the 5000g. I will be checking armory profiles, thanks.

I play a level 70 night elf druid and would prefer someone who is into roleplaying (I have a costume!) but honestly anyone will do, as long as you have the gold. I would also be ok with a woman too, as long as you have the gold! Also not adverse to the idea of groups/anal.

Please send a pic and be real and disease/drug free with 5000 gold on the laughing skull server.

Of course this somehow unusual request was linked on wow forums, blogs and websites all over the world, discussing everything from ethics to which guys would reply to this to her hairstyle. You’re not allowed to sell wow gold for real money in game, but I guess it doesn’t say anything about selling gold for sex. I can see the weirdness in it, but hey, people take off their clothes for a lot less than an epic flappy, every night, right?  Tribeca and Tribeca actually share one fact, the fact that they got their superfast mount in less than an hour. While we now know what activity hers involved, I have to admit something, my dark well kept secret, days of confessions has come. What no one knows is that my mount only required a few key presses and a credit card. I did not know back then that the gold bought from goldsellers in most cases come from hacked accounts. I thought the goldsellers just were really organised in farming, and didn’t really see any harm in buying from them. So, on this matter, I am definitely not in any position to judge.

Not that this Tribeca would care if I did! She’d just careface me and fly off. Naked! Shortly after her original post, she posted her follow-up:

Epic Mount sucess story – w4m – 31 (TriBeCa)
Reply to: pers-308349637@craigslist.org
Date: 2007-04-09, 2:25 PM EDT

WoWHi, I’d just like to thank all the jackasses that thought it would be funny to post my picture all over the internet and make 50000 threads about me on wow forums. I got my epic mount in about an hour that was very enjoyable for both parties while all of you idiots probably spent hundreds of hours farming yours or don’t even have them. I won’t be revealing my name or his, but suffice it to say if I find any of you in-game I will be killing you 280% faster. Also my new friend would like to tell you PUNKS to take a hike, PUNKS. I’m planning to meet him again later this week, he’s getting double value for his gold :D .

So talk all the trash you want, I got MY epic flying mount AND I got laid which is more than most of you failures can ever hope for.

Right thing to do or not, she DID get her mount AND what seemed to be a fun time. All I got with my mount was a credit card bill and spam in my email for the next 4 years…Makes me think, using her own words, who’s the real “punk” :p Oh, did I mention I really, really want Ashes of Al’ar? 😀 Not being totally serious here, was she totally out of line for doing this? Are there any items or mounts in game worth going that far for?

Indecent proposal incoming

Comments
  1. Erinys says:

    Would I do it, no but I’m not convinced she was out of line. It’s her body her choice. I was the laughing stock of my guild when it came to epic mounts. flying and otherwise. Think we had cleared BWL for sure and were possibly half way through AQ40 before I got one.

    Had a few offers to buy me one, mostly with the idea of me returning the gold when I could, one slightly more dubious one involved a trip to Greece (our GM was Greek) and runny honey.

    No idea how I got the money for epic flying, although I’m sure it didn’t involve sleeping with anyone. Must have been painful grinding which I blocked from my mind.

    I could have had the Ashes of A’lar. We had about four drop in a very short period of time back when Tempest Keep was current content but because I stupidly passed (was done on dkp for some reason) because I’d just swapped mains and needed gear for BT/Mount Hjyal. Need to remember that gear fades quickly, mounts last forever :p

    • Tribeca says:

      LOL @ “runny honey” and and trip to Greece! Made me giggle 😀

      I’ve seen al’ar drop too, but never won. I’m going to try do it every week now, it’s possible to 2man. Still best looking mount in game imo 🙂

  2. Dennis says:

    I never really understood the whole fuss about mounts and pets anyways. That part of the game is really not something I would get passionate about. But I can see, by scanning SW, that for most people it is and seem to do pretty much everything to get their hands on certain animals. It seems to take an animal to get a animal in TriBeCa’s case. I wont judge her ways, since 2 people get very happy over her deal. Seems a win win situation to me 🙂
    Love is in the air…. if you have something to offer! (this is as old as the road to Rome).

    D.

    • Tribeca says:

      Haha, no I have never heard you being excited over a mount or pet :p The day you do I will get worried. I agree made a win win deal. Despite of the bad haircut 😉

  3. Heidi says:

    Wouldn’t be the first time a girl traded in this way and I doubt it’ll be the last… Good on her, getting laid and a fast flappy!

    Would you have sex with a random man for 1 million Euros? How about for 1000 Euros? I bet the answer makes you a prostitute either way, just in different price classes. 😉

    I remember grinding the gold for my epic ground mount, I think it was 600 or 800 gold back in vanilla. I farmed that yeti cave in Winterspring (skinning humanoids!) for months to get my swift and oh so pretty… moonsabre? One of the Darnassus ones anyway. It wasn’t the training but the mount that was expensive back then!

    Now I got 2 mounts and something like 20 pets in my mailbox when I log a new toon in for the first time. Times change!

  4. I remember farming leathers for gold so i could buy my 280% flightspeed (druid) and that part being a breeze compared to finding a group that was capable of helping me finish my quest as those lv70 heroics was pretty darn hard back in the day (at least wearing blues). Back then as it is now, your income is highly related to which profession you’ve chosen. Well .. in my experience 🙂

    Nevertheless… shapeshifting to my 280-bird flying into buildings, trees and various topography made me scream from laughter. That was a tremendous speed increase back then as your “normal” flightspeed was 60% from what i recall^^

  5. Arne says:

    epic story. Still a little bit shocked tbh

Leave a Reply

