Oh noes, Guild Drama!

Posted: October 3, 2011 in Just me, Raidtime!
Tags: , , ,

/Gasp! It’s the Drama Lama!

WoW is supposed to be fun and social. Maybe somehow boring or frustrated at certain times. It might seem like a big waste of time every now and then. But it should definitely not make you upset, down, crazy or sad. It should absolutely not give you a little hint of stomach ache every time you log in. Or headaches after you logged off.  And yet, over the last weeks, this is exactly what WoW has been like to me. Not all the time, but a lot more than acceptable. Makes you not want to play, and definitely not blogging about playing.

I love my guild. But it has its up and downs. When I joined here, without being involved in any decision-making or planning what so ever, I had no idea how much politics running a guild involves. I learned fast, and have been used to it for quite some time now. But not like last week. Before raids, during raids, after raids, in whispers, in guild chat, in party chats, on forum, all over!, this  constant static of tension, a background noise of dissatisfaction, moaning and anger. Without going into too many details; our guild has been a 25man raiding guild since beginning of Burning Crusade. I’ll never forgive Blizzard for coming up with the brilliant idea of equalizing 10 and 25 mans on loot and lockouts, it sure killed a lot of 25man guilds. I guess we thought we were pretty safe, but something happened during summer, with less sign ups, less progress, and all of a sudden we find ourselves better functioning as a 10man raiding guild. Which of course is upsetting quite a few. And there are the one who think it’s pretty ok, and who would prefer sticking to it.  But no matter what is done, it’s impossible to keep whole guild happy, which this week culminated in a huge debate, several personal attacks, a rage quit and some seriously heavy forum abuse. Whoa!

Fantasizing about simpler games

I guess when this happens in a guild, it makes you wonder why you can be bothered still doing this. Most people have enough with keeping their real lives sorted, work, family, school, everything. WoW is supposed to be, like I said, fun, somewhere to escape to make time pass, to relax, to get away. Not spending time arguing or trying to sort other people’s arguments. I can be pretty emotional, but trying my best to keep it out of guild. You know that kinda failed when you end up with a sticky “M” key caused by tears in keyboard.

I  could just quit, of course. After this week’s events, I don’t think anyone would have been surprised. But I still want to see the end game boss of the expansion. I still enjoy the game,  maybe it’s because I don’t have anything better to do, but then so be it. I don’t want to quit yet.  Am I am in denyal? Would it be commone sense to leave or move on?  When IS it time, really? Would  I even notice?  Tonight we had for the first time in a while a raid without other concerns that actually getting a boss down. No complaining, no questioning the guild’s direction, no politics. Just pure raiding.  It was sooo nice, like how air can feel fresh and clean after a big storm. I had fun. I had a laugh. I enjoyed the game.  I am sure bad weather will show up again, but I hope I have the same great bunch to stack up under an umbrella with when that time comes. Like I said, I still really love my guild. Even if it makes me go emoooo every now and then 🙂

 

Comments
  1. Silverhawk says:

    You know what time it is ? Rift time 😀 Weeeeee !

  2. Erinys says:

    I quit in Jan for the exact same reasons and deep down I’ve regretted it ever since. Someone once said to me when I joined my first ever big raiding guild, that you won’t like everyone and you definitely won’t agree with everyone all the time and I think I was so fed up of all the bitching and arguing, that I forgot that.

    On a completely unrelated note, I think I’ve ended up on the same server as you. Spotted a Shaman called Tribeca as I was running around SW but was too nervous to say anything in case it was someone else.

    • Tribeca says:

      I guess sometimes a break is what is needed 🙂

      Are you on Bronzebeard now then? 😮 Armory seems to be down so I can’t check 🙂

      • Erinys says:

        Yep, well Erinys is still Horde and on Auchindoun but Priest number 3 (her replacement) and a Druid are on Bronzebeard. Had forgotten how awesome PvE servers are when you’re half asleep and running dailies. No more panicking when you see a bunch of enemy rogues.

    • Tribeca says:

      You should w/ me and say hello :)))

      • Erinys says:

        Will do. I’m currently trying to get her to 85 as fast as possible through battlegrounds and am playing at odd times but I’ll keep an eye out for you 😀

  3. Björn says:

    I think this is pretty normal…to have ups and downs in guild that is. We develop in different direction as well as wow is evolving in its direction. Things will change and they should ofc! I’ve not been a fulltime player since 2005 when I first started…I had my allTimeHigh in 2008-09 with an average of 4h a day…If I remember correctly I met you in that period of time :D. But anyway I’ve been less interested in raids (or any guildruns btw) the last years, mainly because of differences on what to do or not (= guild dramas). So I more or less stopped playing, did some Rift (refreshing game = a must try) and now D3 beta (no wowfeeling yet but good enough ;)…but somehow wow is hard to leave. I think it really is a “once-in-a-lifetime-kind-of-game”…so I changed my priorities and started doing Arenas, and I really like it (sure u still need the right gear). And you really learn to play your character…at last…a must try as well I say!

    But that is not the only reason to do pvp…the same reason I enjoyed guildthings in 08-09 is present here as well….namely good friends. I found a very nice player, Eric, with a very good playing moral….have fun (very simple). And it works really great in 2v2…but not so well in 3v3 or RBGs. But I cant stop thinking what a great time one would have if you put all your “good friends” in the same guild….just imagine!

    • Tribeca says:

      I was new in TNW when you were one of the veterans Björn, or at least it seemed that way when I joined. I even remember you replying on my application, “undergeared and not raid experience, still I get the impression this is a good person, and those we can never get enough of”, more or less the exact words 🙂 I always respected and admired you, and I am glad to see you in game nowadays, although I feel guilty for always being in the middle of a boss fight when you say hello.

      Arena is something I have only done a bit of, I really enjoy it in the beginning but seems my skills are not well enough when the rating gets higher. Do you play with Eric, aka Banditz? If so he is an old guildie from CD 🙂

      Gathering all friends in one guild would be great. I can think of quite a few names already. Really enjoyed our coffee / dinner meetings, meeting the other two from DL also. Good times 🙂

  4. Steve says:

    Some quotes. As true in guild life as real life…

    To incorrectly quote Abraham Lincoln (the actual word used is ‘fool’ rather than ‘please’):
    “You can please all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot please all the people all the time.”

    To quote Bart Simpson (though I doubt he actually coined this one):
    “You are damned if you do, and damned if you don’t”

    Keep going with the game and the guild Elise, you’ll get the support you need.

    Steve xx.

    • Tribeca says:

      Thank you, Steve. The fact that you are so sweet to take time and quote Lincoln and Bart Simpson is more support than I could hope for 🙂 xxx

  5. Dennis says:

    Wearing the same shirts, doesn’t make a team!
    Coming together is a beginning…
    Keeping together is progress…
    Working together is success…
    … but it is hard work sometimes 🙂

    … and you are doing a great job at it!

    D.

  6. luis says:

    “Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.” — Abraham Lincoln

  7. I’ll just repeat myself from before, shortly after i left CD i think: I’m one of the two AGL of Infamy a social guild that raids 3 – 4 times a week and we’re always welcoming good people into our ranks. Should the raid team be filled, well .. join as social and sing up for raids and work your way to the team from there. And personally i’d love to see your letters in green again, been too long 🙂 So feel free to contact me any time e-mail, in-game or my phone (i do believe you have my number).

    ATM we’re trying to get enough signs for starting 25-man FL so don’t be a stranger, should you find yourself guildless.

    Hugs
    Qrt

  8. Tribeca says:

    Hehe thanks Kurt, but I am gm in this guild. And I’d never leave 🙂 If it goes down I will sink with it 😉

Leave a Reply

