Firelands, not so hot?

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Around Azeroth, News, Raidtime!
Tags: , , ,

So yesterday patch 4.2, Firelands, was released. Usually, when there has been a patch with new content, I have been really interested in exploring everything with it. This time, hmm, not that much. Have I reached a point of my wow career where I no longer get excited about new things? It didn’t bother me that I would need to be at work most of the day and be one of the last in guild to have a look at Firelands. After logging in, I didn’t feel like rushing to do the quest chain to get a new cloak, start the dailies in Hyjal or gasp at the new boe drops from trash runs. It just didn’t, and still doesn’t, feel…fun.

I am not planning on quitting game. Not really even considered it. I have felt like this before, and it has passed. I know it will pass this time, too. My enjoyment of game time have up and downhills, I only wish that patch day would take me to uphill. Sadly, it didn’t.

OurΒ  25man raiding team have looked better, but also worse. At least we have managed to get some 25man up and running lately, thanks to new recruits, some people coming back from breaks etc. I am an officer in my guild, and sometimes that can suck a lot of fun from the game. I would sometimes like to log on right before raid start, being told where to go and what to do, being giving a flask and food and, lean back and enjoy the raid. Read forum posts that interested me, reply to them if I felt like it, if not move on. While not raiding, just hide on an alt and do my own things. Of course I can do this every now and then, but I also get a lot of questions, about anything, dkp, recruiting, trials, guild bank, guild progress, people in guild not being happy with someone / something, raids, sign ups, forum, things that are usually easily solvable, but things that still take a certain amount of time.

Perhaps I am taking it too serious, I probably am. But, with Firelands and new raid bosses releases, I feel more pressure than joy. We must make sure we kill new bosses within reasonable time. Must not get too far behind. My guild will never be realm first in anything, we are not hardcore, but for a long time after Cataclysm we were among top ten 25man raiding guilds on server, something that got slightly messed up the moment we started doing heroic modes. I am not too worried about that, but at the same time I want us to keep up with similar guilds, maybe get hands of some more good recruit to strengthen team.

Anyway. These are probably the reasons why I have mixed feeling about a new raid. On the other side, killing Magmaw or Halfus was getting just as fun as poking myself in the eye with a pencil. So I am ready for new head banging. I have done a few trash runs in Firelands already, I like how the zone is outdoor. Pretty huge, hostile, lava all over, fiery mobs, well everything to go with its name really. So far, not too much cc needed, but some mobs hit hard and are also very melee unfriendly. Good thing I can stay at range and watch. Sometimes you just need to sacrifice a rogue. Or three!

Boe epics (list over trash drops here) seem to drop at same rate as on trash im BoT, so I can imagine there will be several incidents of ninja qq’ing in trade chat with all the pugs going on trashruns. Oh, the safety of going with a guild. Priceless. Tonight we will have our first try on a boss on 25man mode, and Shannox is our target. Any thoughts on Firlands yet?

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. tbran@Broadpark.no says:

    You take break, you come Telara and keep me company kk ❀
    You know you want to πŸ™‚

  2. Silverhawk says:

    *lol*
    I wrote name in email and vice versa… I iz such a noobz

  3. Tribeca says:

    hehe, there is still only one world for me and that’s Azeroth πŸ˜‰

  4. Silverhawk says:

    but but I’m in the other one πŸ˜₯
    I can marry you the apply for Visum in Telara for you, then we can haz live happily ever after πŸ˜€

  5. Dennis says:

    I consider myself one of those who came back from a break Elise πŸ™‚
    One of the reasons for my break was the endless repeating of the same bosses over and over again, no matter if it’s hardmode or not, just his health is bigger then πŸ˜‰
    You know how I like to puzzle out new bosses and I believe that firelands gave us, well let’s say, different kind of encounters. The whole threat issue on Shannox is pretty new, the going up and down at the spiderboss, the mechanices of moving around the giant boss by dpssing his legs. To me this is all very exciting again. Like you I love the way the outdoor zone looks and that everything is in motion. Our first attempts on Shannox were good and at the same time hard enough to be challenging.

    In short, I’m happy so far with Firelands and my new role πŸ™‚

    • Tribeca says:

      I am glad, Dennis- you are grteat help and always happy to have you by my side πŸ˜‰
      I think I’m just a bit tired in general. I haven’t had a holiday in ages, just been working, and could need a week or two off, far away πŸ™‚

  6. miJ says:

    Were you ever going to tell me about this site? πŸ˜‰ And is there anything you are not good at?

  7. Steve says:

    Well, i’m not sure about Firelands really. It doesn’t have the excitement of the first Cata raids in terms of new spells, talents, and skills. It also doesn’t have the same sense of purpose as ICC where the end was in sight and killing the Lich King was the challenge we had to rise to.

    At the moment it seems like a random collection of fire-related trash and the and random selection of bosses that just seems to be hanging around for no real reason. I dont expect a ‘plot’ as such but some kind of cohension would be nice.

    Both trash and bosses seem to be confusing and graphics heavy, lots of red shit on the screen and lots of running around trying to keep your target in melee range. I’m not massively impressed, but maybe I’m just in a bad mood.

Leave a Reply

