Day 2- Why did I make a WoW Blog?

Posted: March 10, 2011 in 20 Days Challenge
Tags: , , , , ,

Screenshot around the time I started blogging. Seems long ago.

Pretty easy one. I was living in Sweden and struggled finding a job there. I applied to several part-time jobs I was more than qualified for. Jobs I would probably never have considered in Norway, with the risk of sounding arrogant. But it is a face that while Norway has a unemployment rate on about on 3 % while Sweden is getting close to 10%. So I couldn’t really be picky, but was pretty much same all over; the language barrier.  Anyway, point is, I had a lot of time on my hands. I didn’t want to lose track of what happened in my country, so I read the online newspapers several times a day. When I had nothing more to read, I read Norwegian blogs for entertainment, while playing with screenshots from WoW in Photoshop. I thought it would be fun to combine these interests, and that was it, really.

I’d really like one of these

I had no idea how to put up a blog, but didn’t like any of the pre-maid templates, so I spent 3 weeks reading about Css and Html and how to edit it. I am no expert at it now, but I do know the basics and the codes are no longer meaningless numbers and letters.

I think I made a bad desition about blogging in Norwegian, didn’t really interest many people. But I got to know some other Norwegian bloggers, like Syrco, Lunaire and of course my wonderful Tom. With all the time I had, I tried writing every day, which became harder when I finally got a job. After pretty exact one year of blogging, I started to write in English (with various feedback, I must admit), and started looking for a new blog platform. Didn’t really fit in on blogg.no, where 90 % of all the blogs are 16 year olds writing about  shimmery eyeshadow.

I didn’t expect many people to read my blog, and I don’t think I have to worry about traffic crash anytime soon, but the visitor numbers have been decent, and I get every happy when I get a comment. It’s like, wow, someone actually read this and took time to say something about it too *happydance*! I could be better on commenting on other people’s blogs though, so that’s my next project.

I have never considered quit blogging, although I sometimes have weeks between my posts. I think it’s really fun to write about wow,  but if had quit playing today, I would without doubt continue writing, just make a more personal blog. Which wont happen, not yet anyway. 🙂

Comments
  1. Saga says:

    I know I couldn’t not write. I have to be writing somewhere, be it a personal blog or my WoW blog. Currently of course it’s mainly my WoW blog 🙂

    I found that I got into the WoW blogging community a lot more once I started commenting on other blogs. It’s quite an amazing community really. But I also know that when I first started I felt apprehensive about commenting too. That maybe I didn’t have anything good to say! But I suspect that most bloggers – big or small – appreciate every comment they get 🙂

    • Tribeca says:

      Hey Saga 😀

      The community seems so huge- never been sure where to begin, you know? Have gathered up some blogs and started to make contact, though. Step in right direction 🙂

      And it’s true that every comment means something. Hey, I don’t even delete the mean ones I get every now and then.

  2. alacranmex says:

    Do you read the blog Healing with Lazers? It’s in french by blogger Ypp. They leave comments in English on other shaman blogs so I know they write well in English. It’s a very good blog at least from what I can understand 🙂

    My second language is Spanish and a good blog from Spain is called Spamchainheal. They get a lot of traffic so I guess there is a large reader base who want to read about Resto Shaman in Spanish.

    I’m happy you are blogging in English because my Norwegian is even worse than my French!

    • Tribeca says:

      I tried searching for it, but got no hits- do you have link? 😀 Would be nice to have a French wow blog to read. And don’t worry, je vais continuer écrire en Anglais 😀

  3. Silverhawk says:

    Wonderful, me? o.O *blush* Always the sweetheart. (If wonderful = being the silent type never nagging or barely talking about anything then I guess I should keep quiet more *lol*).

    Personally I’d read your blog if it were personal, about wow or RIFT 😛 It’s you after all, my favoritestest blogger ever ! 🙂

    • Tribeca says:

      Yes, you. You were one of the first to start reading my blog, that’s something I wont forget, you know. Now stop goofing around in those rifts and get your green arse back to wow! :p

      • Silverhawk says:

        Nah, even tho I adore you I’ll probably not play WoW again any day soon ^.^ Miss you tho 🙂

  4. Syrco says:

    Ow, same reason I started blogging! Moved to Denmark, can’t seem to find a job,
    cause of the language or whatever :/ Sucks cause I understand Danish perfectly!
    But might be moving back soon.. Need a job, and finish school..

    This 20 days challenge looks fun, how can I join?

  5. Tribeca says:

    That does sound exactly like my reason hehe.

    The challenge been going on for a while, but I’m a bit slow 🙂 It started on Saga
    ‘s blog, join in 😀 http://spellbound.nu/?p=829

  6. einger says:

    OMG You are the CSS to my HTML is the best love sentence I’ve heard in years

    Good luck with the blog!

  7. Tribeca says:

    Yes, so cute 😀

    Tried looking into your blog too, but spanish isn’t be strongest side 🙂

Leave a Reply

