Sleep…

Posted: December 20, 2010 in When afk
Tags: , , , ,

…Is something I am not good at nowadays. At Cata release, I turned nights and days up side down, and it was really hard to get back on track. It doesn’t help that there are so many thoughts running through my mind all the time, like non-stop, sometimes I don’t know if I am dreaming or just awake. Christmas is only 5 days away, and I haven’t prepared a single thing. I hate going out shopping around christmas, screaming kids, pushy people, either very cold outside or way too hot inside shopping centers, and somehow it always seems that Oslos 500 000 inhabitants have decided to visit that exact place that exact day. Oh well. It must be done.

I don’t think I can blame WoW for awkward sleeping tendencies, I remember when I was 16 and spent my first summer home alone, I could stay up til early morning watching tv and then sleep all day. When I went to university, I studied best at nights, and before WoW, when I played Sims2, it was the same. But sadly most people don’t do like me, so I have to be up at daytime to get things done.ย  I am also very happy at times. And, for other reasons, sad. All in all a strange combination of feelings on top of being tired, or am I just very awake? Who knows ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Anyway, what do you do when you can’t sleep and it’s too cold to sit outside and watch the stars? Make a little video thingie about sleep, maybe. ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments
  1. Silverhawk says:

    Nawwww, that was a super nice video ๐Ÿ™‚
    Hope to see moar as you seem to be good at anything you put your mind into… Good at drawing, good at photoshop, good at videomaking, good taste of music and a very keen eye to anything artistic ๐Ÿ™‚

    We wantz moar !

  2. Hugo says:

    Very nice video and a great post…

    Keep them comming ๐Ÿ˜€

    /hug

    Hugo

  3. Steve says:

    Great video (and nice sexy photo too) Elise.

    Insomnia is a bad thing. Sometimes it feels like we have tapped into a bonus pool of time we wouldnt otherwise have. Time to spend playing poker, wow, reading, or whatever… quiet time with nothing to do.

    Problem is, next day you feel like shit and only do half the things you should. Your work and relationships suffer. Longer term your health will suffer as well.

    I have about 5 bad nights sleep out of every 7. Friday and Saturday are usually the best sleep nights which would indicate that the stress is work related. However I don’t feel particularly stressed at work so I’m not entirely sure of the root cause, but it does become a habit that is hard to break.

    Usually i go to sleep sometime after midnight and wake about 3am. I fight it for a few minutes then swap beds (it might be a heat thing), stick my ipod on and go back to sleep. Some nights I’ll login and play wow for a bit but, to be honest, that is usually a mistake.

    I feel rubbish now. This morning got up and logged in at sometime before 5am having had less that 4 hours. And for what? To level my JewelCrafting. I mean, for fuck’s sake….

    • Tribeca says:

      I know very well what you mean, Steve.
      Last year I had really sleeping problems, swapping beds etc. If it’s too warm I have no chance, I prefer having window open all year around.
      If you are sleepless chances are I am too. Might see you around ๐Ÿ™‚
      /Hugs

  4. new subscriber says:

    Your writing is as thoughtful and irreverent as usual. A pleasant change of pace …as usual.

    The video though, what a very nice surprise.

    I just really… liked it and Im not even entirely sure why. Was just very nice and not what I expected.

    As the poster suggested, great song and a great video, even if it is just a ‘little video thingie’.

    I think people would read your blog no matter what you wrote about. Thanks for letting us into your world Elise and keep writing.

  5. Merlino says:

    I love the music. Which is it, please? I don’t think I have heard that

  6. Tribeca says:

    Song is called While you slept, by Lith ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

