New Paths

Posted: November 12, 2010 in Around Azeroth, Vintage, When bored
Tags: , ,
Was hanging out in Stormwind again, until I remembered why I don’t do it more often. I got whispers non-stop. Grr!
From a level 12 hunter:
– Hi!!!! Can u plz make glow in wpn!!
-No sorry. I’m not an enchanter.
– Plz glow!!! On wpn!!!!
– …
– Plxz I pay!!!
– Listen…as I told you, I am not an enchanter.
– Ok.
– Ok.
– So can u give the glow??
From a level 34 mage:
– Can you please boost me in SM?
– No, sorry
– But why? I really need help 😦 Please
– I don’t give boosts. Besides it would take forever. Im resto.
– You are rested?
– Hm? No resto. As in restoration.
– Oh. I thought you were a shaman.

And don’t even get me started on trade and general channels! Imbàpally is spamming “Dirge  dirge dirge!”. Someone answers with “your mum” jokes and Lolpwnrogué tops it with writing “anal”. Over and over and over. Sure, the time is 16.00 and its prime time for semi-aggressive kids who just got home from school and get nervously over-excited by reading the word “boob”. The average WoW player is 27 years old. Where are all of those people hiding then?? Are they on the horde side? Statistics say no, the age is nicely balanced between the two factions.

Maybe the problem is my server? Bronzebeard is perhaps an attractive home for the ones who think its cool to act tough behind the screen without getting consequences. And could it be any different on the roleplay servers? I decided to find out, and after some research I chose to pay a visit to the RP server Argent Dawn, a highly populated, respective server that are supposed to be one of the best RP EU servers. The same evening, under the twinkling stars of Elwynn Forest, the warlock Lynn was born.
Don’t ask what this means, I have no clue
My first stop is Goldshire in Elwynn Forest. The first thing I’m noticing is that no one are running, they are walking. A level 49 warrior comfortably  worn in cloth is sitting in the corner of a window while emoting: “Trimack finds his favourite position up on the window sill, trying to look his best. Maybe this day she will pass by and notice him. He will never grow tired of waiting for her.” Who mister Trimack is waiting for I don’t know, and I’m not feeling brave enough in the mastery of roleplaying to ask him either. Around the corner are Trealor and Tralinda standing close to each other. The young Traelor has recently been accepted to the priest profession, but is frustrated with her master. Tralinda is trying to explain to her that the becoming a priest is a long education who leaves deep scars in the soul, but on the long road one will realize that being a priest is to master a piece of art (On Bronzebeard this probably means : leveling priest is boring as hell, but after 80 you will kick ass).

In the grove of the forest near the blacksmith an old man, Elfea is walking restlessly around. He asks if anyone has seen a big Elwynn bear, this creature has eaten his grandfather’s monocle. If anyone were to find it, he would be endlessly grateful, since this was the only thing he had left from a large and honourful kin.

Wow, I think to myself, this really IS different! No spam, no blahblahblah, no…wait a minute…from nowhere he pops up – the gnome rogue Ikìllyou runs up in front of me and yells so loud that if the monocle-eating bear was anywhere near, he in halfway to Westfall now. “WHERE ARE HORDE???!!!” the little green-haired halfling also known as Ikìllyou shouts, and the magic is gone for now.

A visit to Stormwind is also on its right place. How will trade and general channel look like here? Someone is looking for an enchanter. So far it looks pretty much the same. Maybe a bit more quiet, but it’s getting late and its past bedtime for the youngest ones. All of a sudden there are warnings about Stormwind being under attack. But, instead of “OMG horde pwning the king come help ffs”, someone is shouting “Rescue us, killing the dogs o’ Stormwind! Neaten the lines!“. “Lutz of dead ppl in castle lololol” has been replaced with “O’ screams in the chapels, corpses on the floor“. The paladin Detroix is sitting at the fountain of Stormwind, he is wearing fully level 60 epic gear. Even though he is level 80 now, he has no intentions about changing this. He would like to help out on the attack, he says, but its this damn leg you see, keeps dragging him down.

I would like to stay to find out which story lies behind Detroix’s leg, but I get interrupted by Vanessaa who is frustrated about her career. Apparently, being a prostitute doesn’t pay well in these times. Some years ago she could claim any kind of amounts, but she will still do her job for a decent price. An offer Callypto can’t resist, because not long after we are witnessing a very private and intimate affair.
The whole thing finishes with an outdoor party to celebrate that the horde were defeated. Detroix states that he does not want to join in on this, perhaps this reminds the fallen hero of memories, memories that still hurt. Callypto and Vannessaa don’t share this problem and are cheering and dancing naked in the middle of trade district, filled with happiness. I don’t want to seem dull, so guess what? I’m joining. And, for what its worth; I’m having fun!
To start a new character and level it to 80 on a RP server is not an option to me. But the great thing about those servers is that you don’t have to reach 80 to get maximum out of the game, and many people seem to have no rush to become 80 either. Of course there are annoying and immature players here too (WHERE ARE HORDE!!!), but lets face it, they are not so bad after all, and are a part of the game. I had a great time while I was playing on Argent Dawn, and who knows, maybe Lynn will face more adventures in the future. If nothing else, just for a refreshing experience that can be recommended 🙂 

May the Elune be with you (yeah, yeah I suck, I know)!

Comments
  1. Wulfy says:

    Argent Dawn is my server and it is, for the most part, a goodun. I’m not really into RP myself, but its a calmer more mature atmosphere mostly. Also, there are far fewer people with stupid, immersion-breaking names.

    You will see a lot of scantily-clad ladies ‘RPing’ round Goldshire unfortunately. That’s a nice thing about playing Horde, all the RPers, both serious and cybor, tend to gather in Silvermoon where almost nobody else goes. Hence my beloved Orgrimmar remains mostly free of naked elves.

    Anyway, enjoy your stay! 🙂

  2. Saga says:

    Interesting to read how you compared a regular realm to an RP realm. I don’t see myself being full-time on an RP realm, but I wouldn’t mind giving it go sometime to see what it’s like. Maybe join the SAN gang on Argent Dawn, kill two birds with one stone and all that 🙂

  3. […] for transmogrification, since they a) lack slots and b) are a mix of leather, plate and cloth. But maybe for roleplaying? For those who are into […]

Leave a Reply

