Crazy little thing called love

Posted: September 12, 2010 in Around Azeroth, When afk
Tags: , , , , , ,

Some years ago I read about a realm in WoW where they arranged an in-game speed date event. In case you don’t know what a speed date is, it’s an organized gathering of singles at which the participants meet privately for a few minutes of conversation with a number of potential partners and decide who among those they have met they would like to meet again (whoa! That was one long sentence). I think I remember reading that every member signed up on a list on a website, and paid a certain amount of gold to join. And they were encouraged to dress up. I would definitely join in on something like that if this was arranged on my realm, if nothing else for a laugh. One of my friends actually asked me if I wanted to go on a speed date thing in Oslo (in real life ofc), but I am too cowardish to join. Besides I think it sounds a bit tacky, not to mention stressful. I would be horrible at selling myself, and would I even want to? Probably not. And how depressing if no one put you on their “like-list” (I have no idea how it works, I just guessed)!

I have tried other forms of dating, the “our friends decided we would be a nice match”dating and also people from online dating site. Not to mention all the “normal” dates with people you meet through work, school, clubs etc. Some of them have been good, like the one that ended up in building a huge snowman in a park in the middle of the night. Some have been weird, like the time I managed to get my hand stuck in a bench and none of us could get it out. How I wanted to just sink into the ground! And some have been really bad, like the one where the guy went to the bathroom and never came back, or the date with the guy who turned out to be a well-known nazi leader (google is my best friend)! Maybe I have bad judgement, maybe I have been unlucky or maybe I am just an idiotmagnet. Whatever it is, it’s enough to not make me feel guilty for preferring playing WoW some evenings instead of going out being social.

I wonder if some of those WoW speed daters actually met someone they really liked. One thing is for sure, you don’t need an event like that to get in touch with people in game. I have heard of several people meeting in game and falling in love, in fact my last relationship started more or less like that. We  know how well that ended, but I’m sure that doesn’t mean it can’t happen for others. I found an interesting site with some statistics, all from The Daedalus Project:

We hear a lot of anecdotes of players who met their romantic partners in an MMO, but how prevalent is this? In a recent survey, I asked players about their experiences in a variety of courtship stages to get a general idea about the prevalence of romance in MMOs.

Many players have at one point or another flirted with another player. About 80% of female players and 60% of male players have flirted with another player:

About 50% of female players and 22% of male players have developed romantic feelings for another player:

About 40% of female players and 15% of male players have told another player about their romantic feelings for them:

And finally, about 29% of female players and 8% of male players have physically dated someone who they first met in-game:

Seems the females are the most active ones on this subject, and I guess I am guilty at all points myself. Been there, done that. I suppose meeting someone in WoW is just another way of meeting someone online, which becomes more and more common. At least you know share a hobby this way, let’s just hope feelings are there also in the real world. Not really relevant to me anyway, since my life is so exciting that chances are I will end up  like Donna Anthania, crazy cat woman of Elwynn Forest! Oh noes!

Have you ever met someone in-game, in one way or the other? 🙂



Comments
  1. Lil' Timmeh says:

    I’ve never dated anyone from the game.. tho I’ve had a crush on one and invited her to my guild… it all became awkward after that so I’m not doing that again.

    I’m sure you can meet people in game as I’ve seen it happen to friends and more than once… I’m also sure it’s making more drama than romance in the long run 😛

    I’ve met some pretty awesome girls in game but I don’t have any expectations to those friendships as I am undateable ^.^ Friends are nice to have too 🙂

    And fyi I have my doubts that you will ever end up like Donna Anthiana ’cause you’re like perferct.

    • Tribeca says:

      Aw Lil’ Timmeh,

      Trust me, I am faaaar away from perfect. And don’t say you are not dateable! Silly! You just need to change faction first,,,horde…pppft. Do like your “wife” 😉

  2. Cats-Eyes says:

    I have dated someone from the game which led to a long term relationship, like you it didn’t work out perfectly but it was a good relationship, just not the right one and I certainly don’t regret it now it’s over. Our experiences in life are what make us who we are from building snowmen at midnight to cage diving with sharks 🙂

    I agree with what you are saying, the MMO’s have become another way of meeting a potential special someone and they are no different to any other means of putting men and women together, whether it be through work colleagues or dating agencies. In my opinion they have the same chance of success or failure as any other method and like other methods, people still need to maintain a level of common sense, but they are a great way to chat and get to know people.

    Having experienced this phenomena myself and not having had it work, I certainly wouldn’t let it put me off meeting someone else through the same means if I liked them and felt they were a worthwhile individual; after all, hypothetically, I could date a person through an agency and find they are a member of my guild, and that I’ve known them in game for years! 🙂 The odds of this happening would be millions to one, of course, 😉 but should my feelings change about the individual when it became known?

    Online gaming, in my opinion isn’t the important factor as to whether two people will forge a relationship or meet each other and not have a word to say to one another. The basis for a relationship comes from the people themselves, whether they like each other enough and share some common interests as well as being able to live with things about each other that aren’t shared. There needs to be mutual respect and willingness to make some sacrifices and these rules apply however two people have come together. 🙂

    If two people can find these things between them online or not then everything should be cool bananas 😉 ;P 😀

  3. Syrco says:

    My boyfriend who I live together with! We met in WoW years ago 😛

  4. Syrco says:

    Both moonkins, even before we met, but now in same guild 😀

  5. Kenny says:

    I never met/dated anyone I got to know in WoW.

    But that can change 🙂

    Although i call some people i met in WoW friends, i never met in real with them.
    Most of them are living a bit far away.

    But this also can change. 😉
    (i found out i am not afraid of flying 😛 )

  6. Qrt says:

    First of all i want to argue with you because WOW is a social arena it’s just not “in the flesh”, well at least most of the time. I’ve never met anyone that i’ve spoken to online first, only the other way around. I believe if a couple wants to sit home and play WOW together, they have a really good foundation to build a future on in my opinion. I found out (perhaps too late) that it’s all about what you want from the game or how you use the game is probably more precice to what i’m trying to say. If you use the game as a diversion because your real life is filled with too much crp, or if you use the game as a substitute because your real life don’t give enough acknowledgement, i’d say you should probably concider….. But as a place to hang out and have fun in your idle time, i’d say i’ve had tons of great fun over the years, even if i never met anyone of the female players and dated them. Of course i’ve flirted and been a big tease from time to time, but that’s in-game and only count 1/2 way in my opinion 😉

    However … things around me have changed and i still play WOW, so maybe i’ll have a date with a person i’ve met in-game sometime soon, only time can tell 🙂 At least i do believe in sharing interests, having things to talk about besides what happened at work today and such…..

Leave a Reply

