About girls and WoW

Posted: September 1, 2010 in Around Azeroth
Tags: , , , ,

I read an interesting post on Syrco’s blog the other day. She wrote about her experiences being a girl in WoW, good and bad ones. I have to admit I don’t really pay much attention to it anymore, I have been in same guild for a long time and think we all have been used to the fact that I am a girl. When I first started playing WoW I thought that the male players were men and the female ones women. I guess I was being very naive, since this is very far away from the truth. In fact, it took me a long time before I met another girl in WoW, it was when I joined my first casual guild in my level 30’s that I met Molly, a woman on 65 years old who I still stay in touch with. Not really the stereotypical wow player, but that’s another story.

Are you a real girl??

There are no girls on the Internet ?I was more surprised when I joined my first raiding guild, I applied on their website with real name and age, and hadn’t even been there for a day before I got several whispers if I could upload  pictures on forum, give them my e-mail or come chat on ventrilo. I don’t have any problem saying no, so it wasn’t really a problem, and I guess I also have to admit that it was fun feeling “popular” up to a certain point.

I have often been whispered “are you a real girl” when talk to strangers in-game, maybe while trading them some mats or asking about a profession (remember the times where you couldn’t just link all profession tab, and getting crafted items took a looong time?). Sometimes, if confirmed, followed by “do you have a bf??”. Now these guy are the ones I really consider to be weirdos. Would they go around in real asking any female the same ? And what do they expect? “No, I don’t have one, but maybe you could be??”. Very likely to happen.

Want more mana? Girl is the way to go!

I have heard several people say “girls can’t play wow”, but since the girls in my first raiding guild were the ones topping damage and healing meters (Solsikke, Jems and Bigmermaid, you rocked!), I know this is not true, and why waste energy or attention on someone claiming this, they are probably just very insecure and childish little boys anyway.And those deserve only /ignore. Or a good lichslap.

And why are there so many guys getting excited when there are girls around in WoW? This seems really desperate, and desperate is not exactly a turn-on. “I’ll take anything as long as it’s female with a pulse?” How…romantic.

This is gchat in Nihilum when they invited a girl…

Oh noes, it’s the drama lama!

Syrco wrote:

Later I applied to a new guild and they wanted to have a chat with me before I got accepted.
They said because I was a girl they would only give me a trial spot if I could promise not make any drama, whine about loot or ask my friends in the guild to stand up for me and defend me. I remember I just thought why the hell should I do any of those things.

This is just stupid og the guild leaders, I have seen so many argues, nerdrages and even /gquits over loot issues, wipes, guild concerns, well pretty much anything, and most of the times it has been only men involved. Men in every ages, all  from 15 to 50. However, I will admit one thing, some girls in wow (as in real?) have a tendency to not get along very well. And sometimes this gets ugly (spare me for the word “catfight”, I beg you :p). I used to level with a girl and thought we went along great. We laughed a lot, did stuff together and could talk about anything. One day, in raid, she and her boyfriend all of a sudden left the guild, and when I whispered her asking why, she said “you know very well why”. Well, I didn’t, but for several weeks later she told everyone that I was trying to steal her boyfriend, she also sent me several “I hate you” mails in-game. Scary! And so not true. I mean, would I date a gnome?

I have also seen girls leaving a guild because they are upset with another girl, refusing to raid or making lots of drama on ventrilo. But this doesn’t mean we are all like that. In the guild I am in now, I like all the females, and I haven’t seen that kind of drama here.I still get feedback when I talk on ventrilo, “aw Elise I can’t dps when you speak, just can’t focus”, “say something on vent so we can hear your voice!” etc, but I know this is for fun and make the same kind of jokes back.

Only one time I have felt discriminated in WoW without being able to just laugh of it. That was the time when a well-respected guild leader told me he would make me officer if it weren’t for the fact that I was female, since they had have a female officer once before and it was a disaster and too much drama. It still makes me sad and even angry, why should the things she said and did have anything to do with me, just because we both happen to be females?

Apart from this I guess I have been very lucky with my time in WoW, haven’t been involved in (too) much drama and made great friends of both genders. Exactly they way it should be! Going to finish this (long) post with a great song. Good night 🙂

Comments
  1. Syrco says:

    Nice to see you write a post about this topic, good to know what other girls have experienced in this game. And to know that not everyone get treated like I did in my last guild.
    I’m so tired of all those idiots who have to spam in chat, caps, make jokes (more like insults) if there is a girl in the raid/guild. I just did ICC10 with some guildies and two randoms. They asked if I could tank, got feral as off, so I said yes, then they wrote in raid chat “She can tank”, and one of the randoms “She? Who? Syrco is a girl!? Girl plays male tauren feral?” Ye, why not.. But he didn’t say anything else about it.
    I’m the only girl in my current guild, but I’ve known some of the guys there for years and they are the best. They make jokes about girls, but it’s only for fun, nothing negative or insulting.

    • Tribeca says:

      Syrco:
      Thank you for writing your post and giving me inspiration to write this one.

      The guild you are in now sounds like the one I am in 🙂 Fun, but not the insulting way.

    • Magdalene says:

      Guys,It’s really not hard to pick up girls. You just need to edautce yourself and luckily, there’s some sick guides out there. The Game by Neil Strauss started things off for me and most recently, I’ve been using the techniques from P.Box.Here’s what you need to doStep 1: Go to MackMethods. comStep 2: Get the pandoras box programStep 3: Use the tips and blend it in with your own twistPicking up girls is a skill. Educate yourself and you’ll laugh at how easy it is

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ann-Alise Leirheim and Elise Maaø, Elise Maaø. Elise Maaø said: About girls and WoW: http://wp.me/pVbTA-8a […]

  3. Steve says:

    Hey Elise, very nice post.

    My first guild was formed with about 10 of us at level 30 or so. We pretty much stuck together until we hit 70. In that small and fairly close-knit group there were 3 girls/women. I’ll admit that there was some ‘drama’ which ultimately led to one girl being kicked from the guild and another leaving the server but as far as performance in instances and quests are concerned they certainly knew what they were doing. Thinking back I cant actually think of any characters from those times who were ‘men playing women’, now it seems to be the norm…

    In other guilds I’ve know alot of women and that includes some of the best raiders I can think of (tanks or otherwise, including lots of hunters! – I know, its a pet thing…). I can only think of one example of a man playing a women and actually pretending to be a woman in real life *shudder* (don’t worry – I didnt) even up to the point of inventing a whole RL story and he was only busted after, for some reason, posting his real name on a raid-guild application. Of course, Vent and Teamspeak help to establish which sex someone really is…

    Overall, and as seen in another great post of yours, female characters in WOW are much better looking and if you are going to have to look at someone’s running arse for hours beyond measure it may as well be a nice arse (and in my opinion you cant get better than a Dranei’s for that!). So, perhaps for that reason, most men probably have female characters that they created originally as alts just to provide some variety.

    What is much rarer however (in fact I can only think of one or two examples) is to find ‘women playing men’. Must be a reason for that?

    S.x

    • Erinys says:

      “Overall, and as seen in another great post of yours, female characters in WOW are much better looking and if you are going to have to look at someone’s running arse for hours beyond measure it may as well be a nice arse (and in my opinion you cant get better than a Dranei’s for that!). So, perhaps for that reason, most men probably have female characters that they created originally as alts just to provide some variety.

      What is much rarer however (in fact I can only think of one or two examples) is to find ‘women playing men’. Must be a reason for that?”

      All my mains are female for the exactly the same reason as that often given by men. They are better to look at. I have a couple of male alts, a bloodelf, a tauren and a gnome but I much prefer the female models. I could never for example play a male Orc, nor a Nightelf 100 percent because I find the models ugly (have you ever had a close look at the male Nightelfs teeth?).

      • Tribeca says:

        Erinys:
        Thanks for your comment, Erinys. I do agree the male models are very ugly compared to the female ones. And why are their hands and arms so big? Looks stupid. Haven’t looked at male nelf’s teeth now, but not sure if I want to 😮

    • Tribeca says:

      Steve:
      Lol, Im glad to know that you weren’t the one preteding to be a woman in RL.

      And you know I agree with you on the draenei, they are the bestlooking in game I think.

      I guess if I had to play either a dwarf or undead, I’d have to go with a man, because the female ones are simply not feminine enough, so might as well go the other way. Apart form that I prefer having only females 🙂

  4. Elise says:

    I prefer female night elfs and draenei’s, they be the best! Before I got Burning Crusade I was sad I couldn’t be a blood elf, because I though they were pretty, but when I got it I couldn’t play it because I hater her so much! After being used to my night elf they were waaay to skinny and gross and mean looking 😦

    And we are.. Hmm 4 girls in the guild now, we are a 10 man guild, and we even used to be 5. Just yesterday actually a new resto druid in the guild kept calling our guild leader “he” when I talked to him, and I asked wether he actually knew she was a girl? And then he went “Omg is he a girl!?!?” And when I told him we were actually 4 girls, and used to be 5, he went “OMG imagine being in a raid with all 5 of you! You would all be like “Oooh I love Paris Hilton, she is so pretty” and “I know her hair is great!” And he has even been in a raid with us D: That kinda offended me a bit, but he is nice apart from that, so he will just have to DWI!

  5. Elise says:

    And I forgot, wow what an idiot for not letting you be an officer :S I have no words for how bad that actually is!

    I’m lucky with the guild I am in, nobody cares about what gender we are, we just have an awesome time 🙂
    I am really glad I have found a place like that, because some of my guy friends in RL play on hardcore servers on Horde sides, and it seems a bit harder finding a place like that D: They were in a guild once and the guild leader was a girl, and they all harassed her so much for being a girl (if she got angry about anyone nabbing in raids they would blame it on PMS) and didn’t take her seriously, so she left. Poor girl D:

Leave a Reply

