Healing Rain

Posted: August 6, 2010 in Around Azeroth
Tags: , , ,


When you live in Norway, people keep talking about the weather the entire summer. When it is raining people shake their head and ask what kind of summer it is we are having? When the sun shines people shake their heads and complain because they have to work, it is too hot to sleep at night, or the garden run dry. The newspapers write about the weather. All. The. Time. How the weather is today, how it will be tomorrow, last year, next week, how it was same day in 1946 compared to now.

Today it has been raining in Oslo. Not some wussy raindrops either, but the sort of rain that makes it impossible to see anything outside a  1 meter radius.  As long as I can remember I have loved rain. The smell, sound and feeling of it. Today I went for a drive in the rain, some heat on, good music on stereo and almost no other cars on the road. Went up to Holmenkollen to get a good view of the city. Ahh, so nice. Was wearing a waterproof jacket with a hood and my dearly beloved Uggs (yes, I know they are known as the ugliest boots in the world, but I dont care, I love them).

Uggs ❤

By the way, did you know that there was no rain in World of Warcraft before a later patch? Yup, Blizzard added snow, rainfall and sandstorms in patch 1.10, which was released sometime in fall ’06. In patch 2.3.2  we got a preview of what we could expect from the at that time upcoming expansion WotLK, because that was when heavy snowstorms were added. One quest I have always loved to do  is The Old Lighthouse one, where you end up killing a boss, Tethyr, by shooting canons at him. When the encounter is about to begin, Theramore goes into a heavy rainstorm, water gets darker with white foam on waves. I love it!

My house!

Rumours say there will lots of lightning and thunder tonight, so I am going to sleep with window open. Looking forward to hearing the sound of the rain, with weather effects turned up to max of course 🙂 Good night!

Comments
  1. Johan says:

    Gief more nipplepics :p

  2. Johan says:

    On picture left :p

  3. Johan says:

    I still think it is a nipple.

    Blog requires bookmarking after this.

  4. Ayllin says:

    You do know uggs are made from tortuted sheeps, right?

  5. Tribeca says:

    Hello Ayllin,

    Thanks for your comment.

    I do know about the Uggs discussion around uggs using merino wool for their products. While UGG claim they use wool scraps and rests from allready dead sheeps, PETA says this is not true, that instead of trimming around the contours of the sheep skin, farmers cut off the folds of flesh along with the wool. This leaves open wounds on the sheep, which can get infected and kill the animal. PETA also says that during this process the sheep are not sedated.

    Even though UGG deny this, I can tell you that my boots are syntethic ones from stella MCCartney, 100 % animal-friendly. I guess I shouldnt call them uggs then, byt to me thats just the name of those kind of boots. Til I know whether PETA is correct or not on their accusations, I wont wear this brand 🙂

    Ps. I dont know if you can read Norwegian, but if you can, take a look at what I wrote here 😉

  6. klsakdlsakd says:

    Great Anothter wowblog. Them all sux. QUit while u can

  7. ida says:

    Haha,lol på klalakak eller hva det var^^ bloggen er bra! 🙂

  8. Björn says:

    Rain is good…gets the car cleaned 😀

  9. Lil' Timmeh says:

    Gieb moar gorgeous 😀
    Post every day *weeee*

  10. Elise says:

    That is so true! Norwegians are obsessed about the weather, we can’t help it haha.

    I do like rain too, just not so much when I have to carry three bags and run to through it, getting completly soaked, to make my train and then wait in the rain for 20 minutes for the bus and then do the same thing on the way back! WTB a driving licence please 😦

Leave a Reply

